List of species recorded at Cromwell Bottom

Checklist of British spiders


Click on the species name for national and regional status (permission granted from the British Arachnological Society. – Spider Recording Scheme).

Any previous names are shown after the authority. The species count at Cromwell Bottom is currently 84.

Any specimens that required confirmation were checked and confirmed by the late Clifford Smith, the late John Parker, Mike Roberts, the late Jennifer Newton and Stan Dobson with apologies for any omissions.

All those listed below have been recorded prior to 2004


Ero cambridgei Kulczynski, 1911


Theridion sisyphium (Clerck, 1757) 

Theridion mystaceum L.Koch, 1870

Enoplognatha ovata (Clerck, 1757) Theridion ovatum

Pholcomma gibbum (Westring, 1851) 


Walckenaeria unicornis O.P.-Cambridge, 1861 Cornicularia unicornis

Walckenaeria vigilax (Blackwall, 1853) Cornicularia vigilax

Dicymbium nigrum (Blackwall, 1834) 

Gnathonarium dentatum (Wider, 1834) 

Gongylidium rufipes (Linnaeus, 1758) 

Dismodicus bifrons (Blackwall, 1841) 

Hypomma bituberculatum (Wider, 1834) 

Baryphyma trifrons (O.P.-Cambridge, 1863) Minyrioloides trifrons

Pocadicnemis pumila (Blackwall, 1841) 

Pocadicnemis juncea Locket & Millidge, 1953 P. pumila var.juncea

Oedothorax fuscus (Blackwall, 1834) 

Oedothorax agrestis (Blackwall, 1853) 

Oedothorax retusus (Westring, 1851) 

Monocephalus fuscipes (Blackwall, 1836) 

Lophomma punctatum (Blackwall, 1841) 

Savignia frontata Blackwall, 1833

Diplocephalus picinus (Blackwall, 1841) 

Araeoncus humilis (Blackwall, 1841) 

Erigone atra Blackwall, 1833

Leptorhoptrum robustum (Westring, 1851) 

Drepanotylus uncatus (O.P.-Cambridge, 1873) 

Aphileta misera (O.P.-Cambridge, 1882) Hillhousia misera

Porrhomma pygmaeum (Blackwall, 1834) 

Agyneta decora (O.P.-Cambridge, 1871) 

Agyneta cauta (O.P.-Cambridge, 1902) 

Agyneta olivacea (Emerton, 1882) 

Meioneta saxatilis sens. str. (Blackwall, 1844) 

Microneta viaria (Blackwall, 1841) 

Centromerita bicolor (Blackwall, 1833) 

Centromerita concinna (Thorell, 1875) 

Bathyphantes approximatus (O.P.-Cambridge, 1871) 

Bathyphantes gracilis (Blackwall, 1841) 

Bathyphantes nigrinus (Westring, 1851) 

Diplostyla concolor (Wider, 1834) Bathyphantes concolor

Drapetisca socialis (Sundevall, 1833) 

Lepthyphantes tenuis (Blackwall, 1852) 

Lepthyphantes zimmermanni Bertkau, 1890

Lepthyphantes mengei Kulczynski, 1887

Lepthyphantes ericaeus (Blackwall, 1853) 

Helophora insignis (Blackwall, 1841) 

Linyphia triangularis (Clerck, 1757) 

Neriene montana (Clerck, 1757) Linyphia Montana

Neriene clathrata Sundevall, 1830 Linyphia clathrata

Neriene peltata Wider, 1834 Linyphia peltata


Pachygnatha clercki Sundevall, 1823

Pachygnatha degeeri Sundevall, 1830

Metellina segmentata  sens. str.  (Clerck, 1757) Meta segmentata

Metellina mengei (Blackwall, 1869) Meta segmentata mengei & Meta mengei

Meta menardi (Latreille, 1804) 


Araneus diadematus Clerck, 1757

Araneus quadratus Clerck, 1757

Larinioides cornutus (Clerck, 1757) Araneus cornutus

Larinioides sclopetarius (Clerck, 1757) Araneus sclopetarius

Araniella cucurbitina sens. str. (Clerck, 1757) Araneus cucurbitinus

Araniella opisthographa (Kulczynski, 1905) Araneus cucurbitinus opistographus

Zygiella x-notata (Clerck, 1757) 

Zygiella atrica (C.L.Koch, 1845) 


Pardosa pullata (Clerck, 1757) Lycosa pullata

Pardosa amentata (Clerck, 1757) Lycosa amentata

Pardosa saltans Topfer-Hofmann, 2000 Lycosa lugubris

Alopecosa pulverulenta (Clerck, 1757) Tarentula pulverulenta

Trochosa terricola Thorell, 1856

Arctosa perita (Latreille, 1799) 


Pisaura mirabilis (Clerck, 1757)   


Dictyna arundinacea (Linnaeus, 1758) 

Dictyna uncinata Thorell, 1856


Amaurobius fenestralis (Stroem, 1768) Ciniflo fenestralis

Coelotes atropos (Walckenaer, 1830) Amaurobius atropos


Clubiona reclusa O.P.-Cambridge, 1863

Clubiona stagnatilis Kulczynski, 1897

Clubiona lutescens Westring, 1851

Clubiona comta C.L.Koch, 1839

Clubiona brevipes Blackwall, 1841


Tibellus oblongus (Walckenaer, 1802) 


Xysticus cristatus (Clerck, 1757) 

Xysticus audax (Schrank, 1803) 


Salticus scenicus (Clerck, 1757.) 

  Neon reticulatus (Blackwall. 1853) 

Euophrys frontalis (Walckenaer, 1802) 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s